Friday, June 22, 2012

Stones of Cancer - Ruby

The DeLong Star Ruby
The word ruby comes from the Latin word ‘ruber’, meaning red. Rubies are a variety of the mineral Corundum and are found as crystals within metamorphic rock. As a member of the Corundum family, this mineral is up to ten times more valuable than a diamond of equal carat and clarity. Corundum is the second hardest mineral after diamond. It comes in a variety of colors, and is considered a sapphire in any other color except red, which is considered a ruby. Rubies range in hue from an orangey red to a purplish red, but the most valuable are true red.

They were called the ‘Rajnapura’ or King of Gems by ancient Hindu. Rubies were highly prized throughout history, were considered to have magical powers and were worn by royalty as talismans against evil. Ancient tribes used them as bullets for blowguns. It was also said that that water would boil instantly if a ruby was tossed in. it was also believed, by Hindus, that the red glow comes from an internal flame that can’t be extinguished. Making a gift of this stone is symbolic of everlasting love. Ancient lore has it that if worn on the left hand, the Ruby will bring good fortune to it wearer.

As long as it was in the hands of its rightful owner, it was thought to grow darker when danger was near and return to its natural color once the danger was past. Legends say that Catherine of Argon wore a ruby which turned dark and dull the day before Henry VIII announced he was divorcing her. Henry V wore ‘The Black Prince Ruby’ in his helmet as he fought the French in 1415. It was discovered later that the gem was merely a spinel. (Which will be the topic of next week’s stone blog.) Engraved rubies were believed to attract wealth and enhance magical energies; dragon and snakes being the most popular subjects for engraving.

Chain Reaction Jewelry (Ruby Buddha)
Rubies were thought to be one of the most important gifts with which to honor Buddha and Krishna. Ancient traditions believed that this stone would protect people from violent storms. In the Middle Ages, it was viewed as a stone of prophecy. In the 13th century powdered rubies were prescribed to cure liver problems. In the 15th & 16th centuries it was believed to counteract poison. It was also thought to restore youth and vitality, when rubbed on the skin.

The red color of rubies symbolizes love and passion and was thought to represent heat and power. A stone of nobility, the energy of this stone is intense and vivid. They strengthen one both physically and emotionally. They are thought to bring love, confidence, loyalty, and courage. It is also believed that they impart stamina, vitality, and strength; but calm hyperactivity.

Rubies are rumored to remove blocked energy and re-energize a person. They reduce negative thought patterns and remove resentment. They can bring clarity and wisdom, and help to resist self-destructive patterns. They are believed to be motivative, to fire passions, and to shield against harm. They help in legal disputes and personal conflict; and guard against psychic and physical attacks. They are also thought to remove any sense of limitations; to strengthen courage, selflessness, spiritual endeavors, joy, and leadership qualities.

These stone are very protective of home, possessions, and children. Rubies are also associated with vitality and strong feelings. They are said to provide wealth, protection, power, and to guard against nightmares. These stones are believed to encourage a zest for life, to balance the heart, to promote good dreams, and to remove negative energy. Rubies are known to provide spiritual wisdom, knowledge, to encourage one to follow his/her dreams, and to help eliminate the ‘martyr’ syndrome for which Cancers are known. Legends say they will light the way though the darkest fears.

Raw Ruby Crystals

  • Traditional Birthstone- July
  • Zodiac stone- Aries, Cancer, Leo, Scorpio, Sagittarius
  • Planet- Mars, Sun
  • Element- Fire
  • Energy- Projective
  • Deities- Buddha, Krishna
  • Powers- Wealth, Protection, Joy, Anti-nightmare
  • Chakra- 1st Root, 4th Heart

No comments:

Post a Comment